Warranty Management

Introduction Warranty Management

Is a callback necessary? How do you establish a good factual basis for a serial damage negotiation? Is your damage part analysis process audit-capable? How can you sustainably reduce warranty costs?

The IQZ helps you to answer these and other questions regarding warranty management in the long term. With our “Hardness Check Warranty”, we examine preventively how you are prepared for current and future challenges in terms of organisation, processes and methods. We work together with you to develop the necessary processes, train your employees and help you select the right software solutions. A recall or a field action is pending? We support you promptly with our experts and give you a neutral second opinion. And if you wish, we can also provide you with negotiation support for the subsequent handling of serial claims. If you have a question that is not covered by our competence, we have competent lawyers and outstanding experts in our network for almost all conceivable questions:

Our offer:

  • Hardness Check Warranty
  • Audit preparation (IATF 16949, GS 95004, MBST, VDA damage part analysis field, etc.)
  • Recall management (incl. risk assessment)
  • External analysis of warranty data (regular & special recourse)
  • Risk assessment of warranty extension
  • Forecast of spare parts sales (series replacement and final stocking)
  • Detection of warranty fraud
  • Development of processes (damage part analysis field, no trouble found, recall, regular and special recourse, market surveillance, etc.)
  • Training of your employees (warranty management, product safety, damage part analysis, fault elimination process/complaint management, method training)
  • Negotiation support (serial damage, year-end statement, warranty agreements)

Our References

  • Development of warranty management incl. diagnostic processes (several 1st and 2nd TIER)
  • Hardness Check Warranty and internal audits, e.g. GS 95004 (several 1st and 2nd TIER)
  • Recall management incl. field data analysis for risk assessment (numerous companies from all industries)
  • Negotiation support for serial claims, year-end settlement, Technical factors negotiations (numerous 1st and 2nd TIER)
  • International training courses “Error correction process incl. 8D (OEM, 1st TIER)
  • Open seminars “Current Legal Issues and Warranty Management
  • Internal training and workshops on Warranty Management, Field Data Analysis, Damage Part Analysis Process incl. no trouble found (numerous 1st and 2nd TIER)

The following methods are applied by us in Warranty Management:

Pareto analyses, multidimensional pivots, layer line diagrams, load distributions (e.g. mileage, load cycles, etc.), Weibull analyses, reliability forecasts, MTTF/MTBF, Monte Carlo simulation, field simulations, cost simulations, RAPEX evaluation, event trees, Markov models

OnePager Warranty Management

What is Warranty Management?

Warranty Management – also known as Warranty and Warranty Management – has become the focus of many companies, especially through the offer of extended warranty periods and warranties – e.g. in the automotive sector – or “flat rate contracts” in the area of MRO services (,Maintenance, repair and operations). In addition to a well-coordinated organizational structure, a valid database is of particular importance in order to quantify technical and, consequently, financial risks in the warranty management process. The challenges in Warranty Managementare manifold and usually associated with high risks for the companies involved. The most critical risks are those that are difficult to quantify, such as loss of image in large-scale recalls and the resulting negative media coverage of the affected companies.

In order to cope with these challenges, an integrated warranty management concept has to be internalised in an early phase of the product development process and carried on until the follow-up phase. This ensures that knowledge from the individual phases of the product development process as well as the product life-cycle can be collected, processed and then provided as a source of information for the other phases. Thus, warranty management is not only the professional response to recourse, recall or spare parts stocking, but rather a company-wide strategic approach to avoid risks and costs.

Figure: Warranty management in a life cycle

Integrated warranty management considers not only the technical, legal and financial challenges, but also the organisational requirements (warranty culture), because an effective approach can only lead to success if it is also an interdisciplinary one. The job of warranty management is then to provide functioning processes, collect information from the departments involved,make this available for internal needs, and to come up with decision-making aids for the management.

Figure: Parties involved in warranty management

Get in touch with us!

You’ve got questions about the Warranty Management?

Feel free to contact Andreas Braasch!

Telefon: +49 (0)202 – 515 616 90
Mail: info@iqz-wuppertal.de

Our newsletter is only available in german. If you still want to apply, you can get to the newsletter-form by clicking here. »

Warranty Management

Warranty Management

Ist ein Rückruf notwendig? Wie können Sie eine gute Faktenlage für eine Serienschadenverhandlung aufbauen? Ist Ihr Schadteilanalyseprozess Audit-fähig? Wie können Sie die Gewährleistungskosten nachhaltig senken?

Wir vom IQZ helfen Ihnen dabei, diese und weitere Fragestellungen im Gewährleistungsmanagement nachhaltig zu beantworten. Mit unserem „Hardness Check Warranty“ prüfen wir präventiv, wie Sie organisatorisch, prozessual und methodisch auf aktuelle und zukünftige Herausforderungen vorbereitet sind. Wir erarbeiten mit Ihnen notwendige Prozesse, schulen Ihre Mitarbeiter und helfen Ihnen bei der Auswahl passgenauer Softwarelösungen. Es steht ein Rückruf oder eine Feldaktion an? Wir unterstützen Sie zeitnah mit unseren Experten und geben Ihnen eine neutrale Zweitmeinung. Und für die meist folgende Serienschadenabwicklung geben wir Ihnen Verhandlungsunterstützung, falls gewünscht. Wenn Sie eine Frage haben, die durch unsere Kompetenz nicht abgedeckt wird, haben wir in unserem Netzwerk kompetente Juristen und herausragende Gutachter für nahezu alle erdenklichen Fragestellungen:

Unsere Leistungen:

  • Hardness Check Warranty
  • Audit Vorbereitung (IATF 16949, GS 95004, MBST, VDA Schadteilanalyse Feld, etc.)
  • Rückrufmanagement (inkl. Risikobewertung)
  • Externe Analyse von Gewährleistungsdaten (Regel-& Sonderregress)
  • Risikoabschätzung von Garantiezeiterweiterung
  • Prognose von Ersatzteilverkäufen (Serienersatz und Endbevorratung)
  • Aufdecken von Garantiebetrug
  • Aufbau von Prozessen (Schadteilanalyse Feld, NTF, Rückruf, Regel- und Sonderregress, Marktüberwachung, etc.)
  • Schulung Ihrer Mitarbeiter*innen (Warranty Management, Produktsicherheit, Schadteilanalyse, Fehlerabstellprozess/Reklamationsmanagement, Methodentrainings)
  • Verhandlungsunterstützung (Serienschaden, Jahresendgeldabrechnung, GW-Vereinbarungen)

IQZ Ihr Warranty Management Experte

Unsere Referenzen

  • Aufbau Gewährleistungsmanagement inkl. Befundungsprozesse (mehrere 1st und 2nd TIER)
  • Hardness Check Warranty und interne Audits, z.B. GS 95004 (mehrere 1st und 2nd TIER)
  • Rückrufmanagement inkl. Felddatenanalyse zur Risikoabschätzung (zahlreiche Unternehmen aller Branchen)
  • Verhandlungsunterstützung Serienschäden, Jahresendgeldabrechnung, TF-Verhandlungen (zahlreiche 1st und 2nd TIER)
  • Internationale Schulungen „Fehlerabstellprozess inkl. 8D“ (OEM, 1st TIER)
  • Offene Seminare „Aktuelle Rechtsfragen und Gewährleistungsmanagement“
  • Interne Schulungen und Workshops zum Thema Warranty Management, Felddatenanalyse, Schadteilanalyseprozess inkl. NTF (zahlreiche 1st und 2nd TIER)

Folgende Methoden werden von uns im Warranty Management angewandt:

Pareto-Analysen, Mehrdimensionale Pivots, Schichtlinien-Diagramme, Belastungsverteilungen (z.B. Fahrleistung, Lastzyklen, etc.), Weibull-Analysen, Zuverlässigkeitsprognosen, MTTF/MTBF, Monte-Carlo-Simulation, Feldsimulationen, Kostensimulationen, RAPEX Bewertung, Ereignisbäume, Markov-Modelle

OnePager Warranty Management

Warranty Management – Eine Kurzeinführung

Warranty Management – auch Garantie- und Gewährleistungsmanagement genannt – ist gerade durch das Angebot von erweiterten Gewährleistungszeiten und Garantien – z.B. im automobilen Bereich – oder von „Flatrate-Verträgen“ im Bereich der MRO-Dienstleitungen (Maintain, Repair and Operations) in den Fokus vieler Unternehmen gelangt. Dabei ist – neben einer gut abgestimmten Organisationsstruktur – vor allem eine valide Datenbasis von erheblicher Bedeutung, um technische und in deren Folge auch finanzielle Risiken im Prozess des Warranty Managements quantifizieren zu können. Die Herausforderungen im Warranty Management sind vielfältig und in der Regel mit hohen Risiken für die beteiligten Unternehmen versehen. Kritisch sind vor allem schlecht quantifizierbare Risiken, wie z.B. der Imageverlust bei groß angelegten Rückrufaktionen und die oftmals daraus resultierende, negative Berichterstattung in den Medien über die betroffenen Unternehmen.

Um diese Herausforderungen zu meistern, muss ein ganzheitliches Warranty Management schon in einem frühen Stadium des Produktentstehungsprozesses gelebt und bis in die Nachlaufphase verfolgt werden. Somit ist sichergestellt, dass Erkenntnisse aus den einzelnen Phasen des Produktentstehungsprozesses sowie des Produktlebenszyklus gesammelt, verarbeitet und anschließend den anderen Phasen als Informationsquelle bereitgestellt werden können. Warranty Management ist damit nicht nur die professionelle Reaktion auf Regress, Rückruf oder Ersatzteilbevorratung, sondern ein unternehmensweiter strategischer Ansatz zur Vermeidung von Risiken und Kosten.

Abb.Warranty Management im Lebenszyklus

Ein ganzheitliches Warranty Management betrachtet neben den technischen, rechtlichen und finanziellen Herausforderungen auch Anforderungen an organisatorische Belange (Warranty Kultur), da eine wirksame Herangehensweise nur interdisziplinär zielführend ist. Die Aufgabe des Warranty Managements ist es dann, funktionierende Prozesse zur Verfügung zu stellen, Informationen aus den beteiligten Abteilungen zusammenzutragen und für die internen Belange nutzbar zu machen sowie Entscheidungshilfen für das Management zu erarbeiten.

Abb.:Beteiligte im Warranty Management

Nehmen Sie Kontakt auf!

Sie haben Fragen zum Warranty Management?

Sprechen Sie Andreas Braasch gerne an!

Telefon: +49 (0)202 – 515 616 90
Mail: info@iqz-wuppertal.de